To Travel Hopefully is a Better Thing Than to Arrive

car, traveling, driving, dreaming

One of my favorite quotes is from Robert Louis Stevenson– “To travel hopefully is a better thing than to arrive.”

It’s a quote that pertains to an emotion I’ve been feeling lately…

Unsatisfied.

I don’t know if it’s that college undergraduate urge where you’re ready to go out and experience life, but I feel like there’s the possibility of the world within my hand. Quickly however, reality crashes down and leaves me with broken fingers.

Student debt, high unemployment, no experience; there is an endless list of overbearing worries that make me scared of wanting more.

There was a time that I drifted towards public relations because the job market was moderate and I figured, “it was close enough” to journalism.

There was another time when there was a news writing job that I decided not to apply for because I figured I already had enough on my plate and that I didn’t need to work any harder.

I wanted to quickly quench that crawling unsatisfied feeling  by giving into “the reality” of the situation and lowering my standards.

However, I quickly realized that even if some things I want to achieve seem impossibly, why not try?

It seems hopelessly optimistic, and I’m not saying that I want to be the next Diane Sawyer or anything, but I’m afraid that our generation may start lowering their standards or goals because of the stark reality that lies before them.

And so you can study something in school that you figure will have a good job market and will turn a profit, and you can also not bother to apply for your dream job because you’re okay with where you’re at and change is terrifying.

But with just one life to live and only so many days to truly live it, what’s the point of settling for reality? Why not keep chasing that dream? In the end you may be better or you may be worse, but what was our country built on?

Dreamers.

And so I ask, is there any quote or saying that you live by or feel strongly about?

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “To Travel Hopefully is a Better Thing Than to Arrive

  1. Matthew says:

    I personally like “Nothing happens entirely on its own, but it is from trying that mankind gains everything.”-Mardonius. It’s found in Herodotus. Mardonius is one of Xerxes’s advisers when he tries to invade Greece.

  2. julieisrael says:

    Fantastic post. I am in very much the same boat right now and totally sympathize.

    As to fave quotes, I keep a book of ’em 🙂 But a recent and striking find was this: “The question you should be asking isn’t, ‘What do I want?’ or ‘What are my goals?’ but ‘What would excite me?'” — Tim Ferriss

    • linhta7 says:

      That’s a really intriguing quote! We should really start asking ourselves what we’re passionate about rather than the rest of the nonsense we put ourselves through when questioning our future.

Leave a Reply

